Pointing With the Wiimote

Wiimote_Teleporter

So, I’ve been tooling around with the Wiimote for awhile now, but the one area I haven’t yet explored is the pointer. For this next challenge, I came up with a simple mechanic to try and implement – drive around as an avatar, point at an item and press (A) to swap positions with it. Sounds simple enough, but I found this was a lot more challenging than I thought. The implementation isn’t perfect and I would have utilized raycasting had I known about it at the time, but all in all, I still learned a lot (which is really the entire point). In this test I learned how to:

  • Interpret the Wiimote pointer’s screen location
  • Map the pointer’s location to a 2D sprite
  • Convert 3D coordinates to 2D screen coordinates
Leave a Reply

